Harm Reduction International Awards

The International Rolleston Award

The International Rolleston Award is named after Sir Humphry Rolleston, President of the Royal College of Physicians who chaired the UK Departmental Committee on Morphine and Heroin Addiction. In 1926 the committee concluded that the prescription of heroin or morphine could be regarded as legitimate medical treatment for those who required it – a decision that epitomises a benign, pragmatic and humane approach to drug problems, and was a landmark event in the history of harm reduction.

The award is given to an individual, group or organisation that has made an outstanding contribution to harm reduction at an international level.

International Rolleston Award Winners

  • 2019 Andrey Rylkov Foundation (Russia)
  • 2017 Péter Sárosi and István Gábor Takács (Hungary)
  • 2015 Edo Augustian Nasution (Indonesia)
  • 2013 Kasia Malinowska-Sempruch (Poland/USA)
  • 2011 Jude Byrne (Australia) and Rich Needle (USA)
  • 2010 Gerry Stimson (UK)
  • 2009 Ralf Jurgens (Canada) and Sam Friedman (USA)
  • 2008 Andrew Ball (Australia)
  • 2007 Vladimir Mendelevich (Russia)
  • 2006 Robert Newman (USA)
  • 2005 Zunyou Wu (China)
  • 2004 Anya Sarang (Russia)
  • 2003 Ambros Uchtenhagen (Switzerland)
  • 2002 Ethan Nadelmann (USA)
  • 2001 Fabio Mesquita (Brazil)
  • 2000 Pat O'Hare (Italy)
  • 1999 Jean-Paul Grund (Netherlands)
  • 1998 Nick Crofts (Australia)
  • 1997 Luigi Ciotti (Italy)
  • 1996 Aaron Peak (Nepal)
  • 1995 Anne Coppell (France)
  • 1994 Alex Wodak (Australia)
  • 1993 Ernie Drucker (USA)
  • 1992 Dave Purchase (on behalf of North American Syringe Exchange, USA)

The National Rolleston Award

This award, also named after Sir Humphry Rolleston, is given to an individual, group or organisation that has made an outstanding contribution to harm reduction in the conference host country.

National Rolleston Award Winners

  • 1992 Les Drew (Australia)
  • 1993 Wijnand Mulder (Netherlands)
  • 2019 Consumidores Associados Sobrevivem Organizados (CASO) (Portugal)
  • 2017 Vancouver Area Network of Drug Users (VANDU) (Canada)
  • 2015 Malaysian AIDS Council (Malaysia)
  • 2011 Elie Aaraj (Lebanon)
  • 2010 Russell Newcombe (UK)
  • 2009 Thai Drug Users’ Network (TDN) Founders (Thailand)
  • 2008 Àmbit Prevenció (Spain)
  • 2007 Marek Zygadlo (Poland)
  • 2006 The Drug User Advisory Group (Canada)
  • 2005 Des Flannagan (Northern Ireland)
  • 2004 Tony Trimingham (Australia)
  • 2003 Mae Chan Project (Thailand)
  • 2002 Tatja Kostnapfel-Rihtar (Slovenia)
  • 2001 Jimmy Dorabjee (India)
  • 2000 Mike Wavell (Jersey)
  • 1999 André Seidenberg (Switzerland)
  • 1998 Tarcisio Andrade (Brazil)
  • 1997 Alain Mucchielli (France)
  • 1996 The Australian IV League (Australia)
  • 1995 San Giuliano Unità di Strada (Italy)
  • 1994 Catherine Hankins (Canada)

The Carol and Travis Jenkins Award

This award has been presented each year since 2005 to a person who either used to, or currently uses drugs, and who has made an outstanding contribution to reducing drug-related harm.

The award was initially named after Travis Jenkins, an extraordinary jazz musician and composer who died of cancer in 2004. In 2009, the award was renamed to include the name of Travis’s wife, Carol, who worked for many years with the Papua New Guinea Institute of Medical Research as a medical anthropologist, and was one of the leading instigators to setting up the National Aids Council. Carol Jenkins was renowned for her research into sexual behaviour and was a leading expert on HIV/AIDS. Equally important was her connection with the Hagahai people of Papua New Guinea, who were her second family.

Carol and Travis Jenkins Award Winners

  • 2019 Andrii Yarovyi (Ukraine)
  • 2017 Lee Hertel (USA)
  • 2015 Abdur Raheem Rajaey (Afghanistan)
  • 2013 Loon Gangte (India)
  • 2011 Tam Miller (Scotland)
  • 2010 Joergen Kjaer (Denmark)
  • 2009 Holly Bradford (USA)
  • 2008 Theo van Dam (Netherlands)
  • 2007 Alexandra (Sasha) Volgina (Russia)
  • 2006 Jason Farrell (USA)
  • 2005 Paisan Suwannawong (Thailand)

The Brooklyn McNeil Rae of Hope Award

The Centre on Drug Policy Evaluation (CDPE - formerly the International Centre for Science in Drug Policy) launched the Brooklyn McNeil Rae of Hope Award at HR17 in Montreal, to honour the best scientific abstract in the area of harm reduction or drug policy. The aim of the award is to encourage high-quality scientific research to support evidence-based advocacy efforts in drug policy reform. The winner receives a waiver to publish in the peer-reviewed open-access Harm Reduction Journal, as well as €500.

The award is named after Brooklyn Rae McNeil, a vocal advocate for safer injection sites and a vital support in the lives of many people who use drugs in Toronto, Canada. As a harm reduction activist whose life was cut too short as a result of an opioid overdose, Brooklyn’s spirit serves as an unwavering reminder of the need to conduct research and evidence-based advocacy to prevent the senseless loss of lives that could be avoided with drug policies grounded in evidence and human rights.

Brooklyn McNeil Rae of Hope Award Winners

  • 2019 - Marielle Marcaida (Philippines) - “Understanding the Narratives of Pateros Mothers’ Activism under the Philippine Drug War”
  • 2017 - Elaine Hyshka (Canada) – “A comparative analysis of provincial and territorial harm reduction policy in Canada”

The Film Festival Award

This award was jointly presented by Harm Reduction International and the Burnet Institute (Australia), from 2004 until 2015, to the best film or documentary at the International Drugs and Harm Reduction Film Festival.

Film Festival Award Winners

  • 2015 "The hidden and forgotten plague - A film about hepatitis C in Sweden" Swedish Drug Users Union
  • 2013 “The Journey of Change” - Bikas Gurung (Nepal)
  • 2011 "I'm Dangerous with Love" Michel Negroponte (USA)
  • 2010 "Ben: Diary of a Heroin Addict" Anne Rogers, Darren Teale & Ollie Lambert (UK)
  • 2009 "A Cleaner Fix"- David Gough
  • 2008 "Harm reduction video, Cambodia – Injecting Drug Use"- David Eberhardt (USA)
  • 2007 "FrontAids" - Eugene Zaharov and Sergey Bogatyrev (Russia)
  • 2006 “Worth Saving” - Gretchen Hildebran & Leah Wolchok (USA)
  • 2005 “Mohammad and the Matchmaker” - Maziar Bahari (Iran)
  • 2004 “Hi Dad” - Theresa Wynnyk & Sherry McKibben (Canada)

© 2022 Harm Reduction International.

Charity number – 1117375 | Company number – 3223265